ID a Name b 79 Sinitic
ID a 79
Page f 557
LSType h zone
Grouping i phylo
IsNotional j no
Notes k covers the "Chinese" or Han-Yu set, part of the "Sino-Tibetan" ("Sino-Indian") continental affinity; comprising 1 set of languages (= 16 outer languages) spoken by communities throughout East Asia, centered on the Huang-He ("Yellow River") and Yangtze basins: 79-A HAN-YU including 3 arterial languages: Putonghua (Mandarin); Wu; Yue (Cantonese) The English term "dialect" has in the past been used inappropriately to describe the major components of "Wider Chinese", which are here classified as a net of 16 outer-languages, divided into 69 inner-languages (and subsequently into 429 "dialects", in the Register's usage of that term and on the basis of presently limited knowledge). Although degrees of spoken inter-intelligibility vary greatly within each outer-language, and are generally low among outer-languages, communication within China is facilitated by a common writing system and by the universal teaching of Putonghua (the standard form of "Mainstream Chinese" or so-called 'Mandarin') as the language of national education. Mainstream Chinese, or Putonghua in the wider sense, is the language with the largest number of primary speakers in the world, serving as the official national language of the most populous nation-state. At the end of the 20th century, the title of "most spoken language in the world" can be taken to alternate between Mainstream Chinese and English within each 24-hour cycle, depending on whether China is "asleep" or "awake". Mainstream Chinese is one of two languages in the world to have reached an estimated total of one billion primary plus alternate voices by the end of the 2bd millennium.
Scale n 9
1 Set • 1 Chain • 1 Net • 16 OuterLanguages • 69 InnerLanguages • 429 Dialects • 440 Leaves • 22 ISO-639-Relatives • 493 ISO-639-6-Relatives
ISO-639 A 1 ISO-639-5-Collective-zhx Chinese
ISO-639-6 B 1 ISO-639-6-ssic Sinitic
GeoEntity C 1 Bangladesh
2 Bhutan
3 Myanmar
4 India
5 Japan
6 Lao People's Democratic Republic
7 Kazakhstan
8 Kyrgyzstan
9 Malaysia
10 Nepal
11 Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
12 Pakistan
13 Singapore
14 Korea, Republic of
15 Thailand
16 Vietnam
17 Australia
18 Brazil
19 Brunei Darussalam
20 Canada
21 Colombia
22 Costa Rica
23 Cuba
24 Fiji
25 France
26 French Guiana
27 French Polynesia
28 Guam
29 Guatemala
30 Guyana
31 Indonesia
32 Jamaica
33 Madagascar
34 Mauritius
35 Mexico
36 Mongolia
37 Mozambique
38 Nauru
39 Netherlands
40 New Zealand
41 Panama
42 Papua New Guinea
43 Paraguay
44 Peru
45 Philippines
46 Portugal
47 Réunion
48 Samoa
49 Seychelles
50 South Africa
51 Suriname
52 Trinidad and Tobago
53 United Kingdom
54 United States
55 Vanuatu
56 Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
1 Node assigned
1 ▶ 79-A Han-Yu

Requested at 2017-05-23 03:09:54 Europe/Berlin from